Windows 10 – So far, I’m impressed!

I updated my laptop from Windows 8.1 to Windows 10 yesterday via Microsoft’s free auto-update.

I was terrified.  Over the past year or so, I’ve been inundated with very expensive and time-consuming technical problems, due to my lack of knowledge and experience, and also due to various software not playing nicely with other software.  It’s been a nightmare.  Seriously.  And I’ve learned entirely too much about (but not enough to write intelligently about) something called a “clean boot.” (*Shudders*)

For once, however, I’m happy to report that I’m very happy with this latest turn of events.  The system upgrade took all morning (I had a very slow connection, and lost power right in the middle of it), but there were no problems.  I still have all of my files. All of my third part software is still working beautifully – even Gimp and Second Life.  So far, I haven’t had to re-set or reinstall anything.

It’s almost too good to be true, but I’m certainly enjoying this while it lasts.

I also really like Windows 10.  The interface is more like Windows 7, which I’m used to (I never really liked Windows 8.1 very much with all of the odd pop-out windows all over the screen).  The menues are user-friendly and Cortana is surprisingly helpful.  She uses mostly Bing, which is a search engine I like, but always forget to check because Google is just so easy.

So far, so good!  Has anyone else tried Windows 10?  Do you have any tips or tricks you’d like to share?

5 thoughts on “Windows 10 – So far, I’m impressed!

  1. I’m still waiting to be notified that my free Windows 10 update is ready to go. I was a little skeptical, but your positive review now has me looking forward to it.;)

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’ve just purchased a new laptop with windows 8.1 and keep getting the message about upgrading to windows 10, but have been debating it with dread. This article has given me to courage to try it, especially since I did love Windows 7. Thanks for sharing!

    Liked by 1 person

What do you think?

