Virtually Display Artwork in a Room

Fire and Rain in Situ
Fire and Rain in Situ

I’ve been experimenting with different ways to display my artwork in a room for a potential buyer. Sometimes people see a piece of art they like, but don’t know how it will look in a room.

My recent artwork is designed specifically to be printed on metal or acrylic panels, which is still a bit of a new concept for some collectors who are accustomed to canvas or framed posters. The obvious solution is to purchase a large number of prints ahead of time and display them at local art shows. I hope to be able to do this eventually, but for now this solution is not realistic because of lack of time and resources. Although I do have my images posted online and available for purchase, I’m hoping to take this a step further to actually show the buyer how these images would look in a space.

There are several iPhone apps for this (e.g. Fine Art America, Walnut, and ArtSee), but I’m an Android user. WallApp is browser-based, and defintinely headed in the direction I’m wanting to go. You just drag your picture onto the space in several ready-made spaces. The customization is a bit limited, though. Carol McIntyre also has a great article on Artsy Shark on how to create in situ photos by merging artwork with Google images.

This got me thinking that maybe I could expand the use of my virtual gallery to create these images.

No Evil in Situ
No Evil in Situ

So I did a little online shopping and began putting together some vignettes. My work is a little bit too stimulating for most people’s living rooms. I envision it more to be displayed in offices, lobbies, studios, schools…anywhere where creativity is encouraged, so these are the types of sets I’m working on. These are meant to be temporary displays so I’m doing them in what is known as a private “skybox.” I’m not very happy with the skybox I chose (There’s not enough wall space, plus I keep falling through the floor and can’t seem to remedy the problem), but I’m having fun experimenting with furniture arrangements.

These are a couple of examples. I would love to hear from others who might have used virtual displays in selling “real life” products – what works, and what doesn’t?

4 thoughts on “Virtually Display Artwork in a Room

  1. I took a look at your inworld gallery – don’t know how I’ve missed it before, since I’ve explored the Sim comprehensively in the past!

    It’s remarkable how even a virtual ‘space’ can dramatically change the observer’s perception of a piece. I was surprised at just how much of a difference there was between seeing your work displayed inworld, and the images here in your blog – there’s a depth and a dynamism to the inworld pieces that simply doesn’t translate to a two-dimensional presentation, and being able to walk around and get a real sense of the images really does make a difference. (I really love ‘Elixer’ by the way!).

    As for trying to replicate real world scenarios with virtual equivalents… I’m not so sure. What the artist sees in their work doesn’t necessarily replicate what the observer perceives, and whilst envisioning how we imagine our work will be displayed is very much part of the creative process, I’m not sure that’s always the way it works out. By all means explore your vision – it can only serve to enhance the raison d’etre that underpins what we do, but I think there comes a point where any form of art has to take wings and find its place in the visions of others. For your part… just do what you do so well; enjoy it, and don’t worry about where it goes from there!

    When it came to meshing the real world with the virtual – for me there simply wasn’t an ‘off-the-shelf’ solution. The space I needed had to feel right, and in the end the only option was to build my own gallery from scratch. It’s certainly not perfect, but it is ‘me’, and as a result the juxtaposition of real life and the virtual feel right. And I think that really is the bottom line, if it feels right, then simply follow your heart. My own opinion is that art has nothing to do with pleasing others, it’s all about finding a way to scratch that itch that nothing else can reach – it’s a very personal thing, and I think that most artists – if they’re honest – couldn’t give a damn about what others think of their work, as long as it works for them.

    Your art is extraordinary – I love it, and it speaks to me about things that sometimes I can struggle to articulate, I find myself captivated, occasionally challenged, and – at times – frustrated, even tormented by it… but isn’t that what art is all about? this is stuff that shouldn’t sit easily with the creator or the observer… it’s visceral, it’s emotional and it can be painful, and if it isn’t, then something is missing.

    I’m not really being helpful here. 🙂 My gut feeling is that you should play around, experiment, do what feels right. But, don’t get bogged down with aesthetics… just do your thing, and it it doesn’t work out, it’s no big deal, at least, that’s how it seems to me.

    Wow… I’ve probably rambled on enough! I guess the message is, don’t get too caught up in the ‘how’, just keep on doing the ‘what’, because you do it terribly well. 🙂

    s. x

    Like

    1. Thanks for the very insightful remarks, Seren – and yes, this was helpful. Actually, I have been getting a little overwhelmed by the “how” and forgetting to enjoy the process. Also – thanks for visiting my gallery…come back any time!

      Like

What do you think?

